WhatsApp may soon let you spy on your friends: Here’s how

 

 

New WhatsApp beta update hints at a ‘live location’ sharing feature!

Messaging app WhatsApp is now testing a new live-location sharing feature on beta apps for iOS and Android. In other features, the service might include the ability to edit and recall messages, which have been delivered, but not read by the recipient.

According to Twitter user @WABetaInfo, a live location feature that tracks the real-time location of other group participants is currently available on Android 2.16.399 and iOS 2.17.3.28 on beta versions. However, it is disabled by default. It can be activated by going to the group Settings option on the top right and the option named ‘Show my friends’ will be visible. It can be turned on and off according to your preference.

With this feature, users on a group will now be able to share their live-location with other members of the group. This feature can be kept on for 1 minute, 2 minutes, 5 minutes and indefinitely. This feature will prove to be useful in situations where you need to know the exact location of a member. However, this may raise many privacy concerns. We may also get two new features, namely Recall and Edit. With the Recall feature, you will be able to recall a sent message, as long as it is not read.

A few months ago, WhatsApp introduced video calling feature to everyone. To use this feature, users can press the call button on the top right corner in a chat which will bring up two options: voice call or video call. To place a video call, simply click on the option from the screen. Users also have the option to simply switch between the rear and front camera, mute conversations and disconnect the call as well.

Sources: sociofly.com

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered By Indic IME